#1 06-28-2009 07:10:29

meldar

(25) Chicken goiters?

What is wrong with my baby chicks? They all (25) have these rather large goiter like growths on their chests. At first they were water, some still are, but are becoming firm. I am new to chickens, but it looks gross, so it can't be right. Otherwise, the chicks seem healthy. They eat a lot, play, and are growing. Since these are Cornish birds intended for meat, can they be treated or or start over. Unfortunately, they are my daughter 4-H project.

#2 06-28-2009 07:13:23

paganfish
The Ancient Chicken Sage

Re: (25) Chicken goiters?

shrug

I have no clue but some folks here are knowledgable on what ails chickens...so maybe someone can help you out.

I did want to say... welcome to CC!

neutral

"I put a capital N on nature and call it my church."
-Frank Lloyd Wright
smile

#3 06-28-2009 07:19:21

meldar

Thank you for the welcome.smile

#4 06-28-2009 10:52:39

thndrdancr
Double Platinum

Meldar, I think you are referring to their "crops".  Thats where the chicks store food when they eat before it goes on down into their digestive systems.

When they eat a lot, their crops can get really big, even as chicks!

You are aware that cornish cross are meat birds I hope, you dont want your daughter brokenhearted as their very super short lives? Meat birds are bred to mainly eat and eat, and not much else, and usually only live til about 16 to 20 weeks old.

Just wanted to make sure you are aware of that.  They get so huge they dont move around much, develop leg and heart problems.  Its really a sad thing as they were really meant to be butchered around 10 to 14 weeks old.  As long as you are aware of this and she is as well, that is ok.

Sounds like they are healthy and eating up a storm!

Jill~Chicken mom to six chicken children!

#5 06-29-2009 06:59:36

Hencackle
Mod Squad